SPUSD Teacher Recognition and Appreciation | SPUSD Snapshot

PHOTO: SPUSD | South Pasadenan.com News | Administrators celebrate SPHS Special Education teacher, Laura Youkstetter, for being named the SPUSD Teacher of the Year. Pictured from left to right: Principal John Eldred, Superintendent Geoff Yantz, Laura Youkstetter, Assistant Superintendent Linda Junge, Assistant Principal Vanessa Blackwood, and Assistant Principal David Speck.

South Pasadena Unified School District is proud to announce that SPHS Special Education Teacher Laura Youkstetter has been named as the 2023 Teacher of the Year. Ms. Youkstetter will represent SPUSD in the Los Angeles County Office of Education Teacher of the Year program, which recognizes educators who have shown exemplary dedication, compelling classroom practices, positive accomplishments, and professional commitment to their students.

Congratulations also to the following teachers who were named by faculty and staff members as their individual school’s Teacher of the Year:

Brian Jehue, Arroyo Vista

- Advertisement -

Valerie Omine, Marengo

Jennifer Detterich, Monterey Hills

Tammy Lai, South Pasadena Middle School

Laura Youkstetter, South Pasadena High School

SPUSD schools also have the honor of selecting teachers for recognition by the Oneonta Club Foundation. This year, Oneonta will recognize Laura Ishibashi from Arroyo Vista and Andrew Adanto from South Pasadena Middle School.

SPUSD’s outstanding teachers help ensure the success of our community’s children and young adults. We appreciate all of them today and every day for their dedication to our students. Thank you!