New City Manager Search | List of Community Members Named for Input

Community leaders, business owners and activists alike have been invited to take part

Thirty-one South Pasadena residents have been invited to sit on one of four focus groups that will offer input on the experience, style and personal qualities the city will look for in its search for a permanent city manager.

Each group will participate in a teleconference with the Gary Phillips, executive vice president of Bob Murray and Associates, the recruiting agency the city hired early last month to lead the search, which was expected to take no more than 16 weeks.

Philips asked each member of the City Council to identify about a half dozen residents to serve on the focus groups, according to Interim City Manager Sean Joyce. Joyce, hired in September shortly after Council’s unanimous ouster of former city manager Stephanie DeWolfe, expects to serve until a new city manager is appointed. He said that could be approximately April 1.

- Advertisement -

While the groups won’t be limited to any single area of interest, the city said in its invitations, it nonetheless organized the names into groups of community leaders, business leaders, activists, and current and former commission members. They are:

Community Leaders

Mary Urquhart

Bill Sherman

Yuki Cutcheon

Josh Albrektson

Bianca Richards

Betty Emirhanian

Sally Kilby

Sherry Plotkin

Business Leaders

Larry Abelson

Ellen Daigle

Steven Lawrence

Laurie Wheeler

Andrew Berk

Brad Colerick

Pete Kutzer

Community Activists

Bill Kelly

Helen Tran

Anne Bagasao

Jan Marshall

Brandon Yung

Delaine Shane

John Srebalus

Chris Bray

London Lang

Current/Past Commissioners

Ed Donnelly

Michele Kipke

Joanne Nuckols

Janet Braun

Odom Stamps

Harry Knapp

Richard Schneider

Michelle Hammond



Ben Tansey
Ben Tansey is a journalist and author. He grew up in the South Bay and is a graduate of Evergreen State College. He worked in Washington State as a reporter in a rural timber community and for many years as an editor for a Western electric energy policy publication based in Seattle.