Today, the Tournament of Roses announced the 24 floats awarded official honors in the 129th Rose Parade presented by Honda.  These awards recognize excellence in a variety of categories and specifications.

The 2018 Float Trophy Winners – Sorted in Alphabetical Order:

- Advertisement -
Award Description Participant Theme Builder
Sweepstakes Most beautiful entry: encompassing float design, floral presentation and entertainment Singpoli American BD Rising Above Paradiso
Americana Most outstanding depiction of national treasures and traditions Farmers Insurance Honoring Hometown Heroes Phoenix
Animation Most outstanding use of animation Underground Service Alert of Southern California (DigAlert) Making It Safe for All Fiesta
Bob Hope Humor Most whimsical and amusing float La Cañada Flintridge Tournament of Roses Association Panda-Monium Self-Built
Crown City Innovator Most outstanding use of imagination, innovation and technology The Grand Tour-An Amazon Prime Original Make Your Own Momentum Paradiso
Director Most outstanding artistic design and use of floral and non-floral materials Odd Fellows and Rebekahs Rose Float Sacrifice to Serve Phoenix
Extraordinaire Trophy Most extraordinary float The UPS Store, Inc. Books Bring Dreams to Life Paradiso
Fantasy Most outstanding display of fantasy and imagination Sierra Madre Rose Float Association Chivalry! Self-Built
Founder Most outstanding float built and decorated by volunteers from a community or organization Burbank Tournament of Roses Association Sand-Sational Helpers Self-Built
Golden State Most outstanding depiction of life in California City of Riverside 25th Annual Festival of Lights Fiesta
Grand Marshal Most outstanding creative concept and float design Dole Packaged Foods Sharing Nature’s Bounty Fiesta
International Most outstanding float from outside the United States China Airlines Caring for Our Sea AES
Isabella Coleman Most outstanding presentation of color and color harmony through floral design City of Hope Transforming Lives with Hope Phoenix
Judges Most outstanding float design and dramatic impact American Armenian Rose Float Association, Inc. Armenian Roots Phoenix
Leishman Public Spirit Most outstanding floral presentation from a non-commercial participant United Sikh Mission Serving Kindness Phoenix
Mayor Most outstanding float from a participating city City of Torrance Protecting Nature…The Madrona Marsh Preserve Fiesta
Past President Most outstanding innovation in the use of floral and non-floral materials Cal Poly Universities Dreams Take Flight Self-Built
President Most outstanding use and presentation of flowers Western Asset Management Company Oceans of Possibility Phoenix
Princess Most outstanding floral presentation among entries 35 feet and under in length Rotary Rose Parade Float Committee, Inc. Planting the Seeds of Service Phoenix
Queen Most outstanding presentation of roses Downey Rose Float Association Working Together Self-Built
Showmanship Most outstanding display of showmanship and entertainment Trader Joe’s Hats Off Phoenix
Theme Most outstanding presentation of the Rose Parade Theme Donate Life The Gift of Time Paradiso
Tournament Volunteer Most outstanding floral presentation of the Rose Parade Theme among floats 35 feet and under in length Shriners Hospitals for Children Caring for Kids Around the World Phoenix
Wrigley Legacy Most outstanding display of floral presentation, float design and entertainment Ag PhD TV and Radio Salute to Farmers AES


Scores are based on criteria such as creative design, floral craftsmanship, artistic merit, computerized animation, thematic interpretation, floral and color presentation, and dramatic impact.

This year’s judges – María Eugenia Carrion, Bradley Kaye, and James Sutton — reviewed each float during judging sessions that take place during the decorating stages before the parade. The judges used their scores from the judging sessions to determine the trophy recipients. Banners for each award-winning float will be carried in the parade by select members of the Tournament of Roses Troop, which includes Gold Award Girl Scouts and Eagle Scouts.