Festival of Balloons Committee | Making the 4th of July Happen

A dedicated group meets year-round to make the Festival of Balloons a special day in the community

PHOTO: Chris Colburn | SouthPasadenan.com News | Committee for the Festival of Balloons 2019

Producing the City of South Pasadena’s biggest attraction of the year isn’t an easy task, requiring long hours by a group of dedicated volunteers.

Making it happen, working feverishly behind-the-scenes, is a dedicated group who stage all the planning for an early morning pancake breakfast, the parade’s opening ceremonies, the parade down Mission Street, activities and games in Garfield Park, and finally a 20-minute fireworks show at South Pasadena High School at about 9 p.m., closing out a long day.

Committee members meet monthly leading up to the parade to create an exciting day for the community. The volunteer crew works diligently to make the Festival of Balloons parade and fireworks show a huge success each year.

- Advertisement -

It all comes together for a fun, festive day from sunrise to sundown.

The 4th of July Festival of Balloons Committee never turns away those who want to pitch in and lend a hand.

“We couldn’t put this day together without the work of hardworking people in our community,” said Festival of Balloons Committee Chair Rosemary Whitney. “We’d like to get more help for next year’s parade and we encourage residents to attend future planning meetings. We’d love to have your help.”

For volunteer opportunities, contact Whitney at rosiewhitney@yahoo.com

Fourth of July Festival of Balloons Committee

Chair – Rosemary Whitney

Vice Chair – Jim Anderson

Treasurer – Michael Schlaifer

Secretary – Megan Colburn

Decorations – Rob and Clare Williams

Fireworks/Stadium – Marty Smith

Food Booths – Jane Jackson, Rosemary Whitney

Parade – Joe Payne

Classic Cars – Marlin Perry, Tracy Perry

Park/Sound/Youth – Bob McClain

Posters – Joan Payne

Publicity/Program –Bill Glazier

Tickets – Robert MacTavish, Lindy Yuen

Security – Joe Payne

City Council Liaison – Michael Cacciotti

City Liaison – Anthony Kim

Members at Large – Chris Colburn and Ted and Joan Shaw