Representative Judy Chu Honors Community Leaders in the 27th Congressional District

On Saturday, July 28, 2018, Congresswoman Judy Chu held her 9th Annual Congressional Leadership Awards Ceremony to honor outstanding and diverse business people, volunteers, educators and non-profit organizations in the San Gabriel Valley.

The Congressional Leadership Awards ceremony recognizes the diverse leadership and volunteerism in the cities that make up the 27th Congressional District. All the awardees were selected from nominations that were submitted by members of the community. The selected groups and individuals received this honor because of the commendable work they have accomplished in their field as well as their dedication to communities in the San Gabriel Valley. Rep. Chu released the following statement:

“Having represented the San Gabriel Valley for so many years, I’ve had the amazing opportunity to meet with so many incredible volunteers, advocates, entrepreneurs, and leaders who make our area such a great place to live, work, and raise a family. And these awards are a chance to recognize and honor their contributions. This year’s winners of the Congressional Leadership Awards have invested time and money into their communities, to the benefit of all of us. It’s a privilege to represent a district that is so innovative and connected, and that is thanks to the great residents of the San Gabriel Valley like those I am recognizing today. I congratulate all of this year’s winners for their many contributions and hope they can continue to serve as inspirations and leaders in our area.”

This year’s Congressional Leadership Award recipients are:

- Advertisement -

Alejandro Montes – Business Person of the Year

Stephen Sham – Business Person of the Year

C. Freeman Allen – Community Activist of the Year

Ryan Hampton – Community Activist of the Year

Jose Sanchez – Educator of the Year

Mentoring & Partnership for Youth Development (MPYD) – Educator of the Year

Armenian Relief Society, Sosse Chapter, Pasadena – Non-Profit of the Year

Sierra Madre VFW Post 3208 – Non-Profit of the Year

Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation – Volunteers of the Year